Week 1, Race Week! – End of Summer Half

I woke up Monday ready to go for some cross training workouts and opened my app to see what was scheduled for the day and this popped up!

IMG_9217.PNG

So after thinking about it, I thought was probably a better idea to not do the 2 CT days I had planned.  It usually does make me a little more tired throughout the week when I do all 5 workouts. I pushed hard for my speed workout though and actually tried out some new paces because again it just wasn’t challenging. I think I started at 7.3mph for two sets but had to increase it for the next ones and ended at 7.7 mph. I could probably get away with going a 7 something min/mile for all 5 sets.

The easy run I decided to run with my boyfriend. Thinking ‘oh hey it’ll be fun, he can pace me!’ Yeah no I should have just gone myself lol. It was fine, it was just hotter than expected and we ran at like a 9:30 pace. I could have settled for 9:50 lol.

Today (friday) I am relaxing, ate some chipotle for a late lunch/dinner, and drinking lots of water. Im not sure if that was a good idea (the whole chipotle thing) or what hah but we will find out tomorrow! I’ve had about 90+ ounces of water today. I just drank some electrolytes (Heed) for the night. And will have another serving in the morning while I eat breakfast.

Here is my training from this past week:

MONDAY – Rest day

TUESDAY – Speed work: 5 x 1000m (8:13, 8:13, 8:06, 7:53, 7:47) with 400m recovery.

Total miles: 4.64 miles. Total time: 51 min. 

WEDNESDAY – Rest day

THURSDAY – Easy Run : 3 miles

Total miles: 3 miles.  Total time: 29:01 min.

FRIDAY –  Rest day

SATURDAY – RACE DAY!!  [ be on the look out for a race recap! ]

Total weekly miles: 20.74 miles. (including estimated race milage)

I am off to bed in an hour or so. I’ll be going to bed around 8-9p and wake up around 4-5a. Check my twitter for updates throughout race day tomorrow!

 

 

Leave a Reply

