Running, Lifting, and Macros.

Hey All!

I wanted to share with you all my current workout schedule. During my training for the half marathon, I was doing minimal to zero weight lifting. I lost a total of 8 pounds during my training and lost some of my muscle tone along with that. I tried incorporating full body workouts along with my running, however, I couldn’t handle the two. I was too focused and anxious about keeping to my training for the race that I didn’t want to compromise myself with being sore or too tired from lifting. Now that I don’t have a race to stress over, I feel that I am able to commit myself now to both. This is what I have been doing for the past 2 weeks and plan to continue for a while longer (until I get bored and want to mix it up!).

Workout Schedule -- Lifting in Scrubs

CARDIO:

I wanted to continue doing 4 runs a week to keep up my endurance and possibly keep me in shape for another race. One of the HIIT workouts I do is a speed run on the treadmill. This consists of 4-8 sets of sprints with jogging in between sets. These runs will help increase my pace for training. The other HIIT workout I have been doing is on the stair master for 30 minutes, and I do this on one of the days I do legs.  My easy runs are only 3 miles at a easy light pace. And my long runs are between 6-10miles. I use this pace calculator to determine my training paces for my runs. Its a great site to use for training, if your training for any kind of race.

LIFTING:

The following are the lifting days I’m doing. I’m pretty much only doing 3 sets of 10 reps of most of the exercises.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 6.19.50 PMScreen Shot 2016-05-18 at 6.20.10 PM

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 6.20.18 PMScreen Shot 2016-05-18 at 6.20.37 PM

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 6.20.29 PM

ABS:

My ab routine is nothing special. I don’t usually do abs but this is just something I wanted to try out this time around and see how it went. I may only get to them 2-4x a week. I had an old program I had got from someone and never finished it so I thought I would give it another go. It consists of 3 sets of 5 different ab exercises for 30-45seconds with 20 second rest periods in between. And 1 minute rest between each set.

 

MACROS:

I counted my macros throughout my training for the half. And am glad I did so. Sometimes I think counting my macros is only for when I want to lose weight, however, keeping track of what I’m eating during training was probably one of the best decisions I made. I needed to learn how to keep my body fueled properly before, during, and after my runs. Tracking the food I ate allowed me to see what types of food made me feel good and energized during a run and then those that gave me a stomach ache half way through.  It helped me make sure I was actually eating enough food throughout the day.

My usual macros consist of my protein being the amount of my body weight, higher fats (around 50), and moderate carbs. This has always worked well for me, however, I have been wanting to change this up and play around with my numbers to see how different macro combinations affect my body. For the past 2 weeks, I decreased my fats (to around 30-40), increased my carbs, and slightly increased my protein above my body weight. I’m still kind of unsure on how lowering fats affects me and I may try this out again at another time. But I wasn’t seeing progress so I went back to my usual numbers. Im going to stick with the usual numbers for this week and then next week is our vacation soooo well you know how that goes. I won’t be tracking my food, I don’t want that to worry me while on vacation. But I will be conscious of what I’m eating and at least make sure I’m fueling myself properly throughout the day and for my workouts. When we get back I’m most likely going to continue with the same “usual” macros, will probably just change my protein amount if my weight changes.

 

One thought on “Running, Lifting, and Macros.

Leave a Reply

